Chief Inspector Gamache series by Louise Penny

Chief Inspector Armand Gamache is the main character in a series of mystery novels written by Canadian author Louise Penny. The series is set around the life of Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of Sûreté du Québec, the provincial police force for Quebec.

In order of publication these are the titles in the series. Louise Penny intended these to be self-standing so you can read them out of sequence (as I have in fact). However to get the full effect of the character development it would be best to read in publication order.

    • Still Life (read but not reviewed)√
    • A Fatal Grace (published as Dead Cold in some countries) (read 2016) √
    • The Cruellest Month
    • A Rule Against Murder(published as the Murder Stone in some countries)
    • The Brutal Telling
    • Bury Your Dead
    • A Trick of the Light
    • A Beautiful Mystery (read 2013) √
    • How the Light Gets In (read 2014) √
    • The Long Way Home (read 2014) √
    • The Nature of the Beast
    • A Great Reckoning (read 2016) √
    • Kingdom of the Blind (read 2018) √

More information about Louise Penny can be found on her website


%d bloggers like this: