Life after the Booker – postscript

Apparently my knowledge of Booker prize winners is somewhat unreliable. In my last post I commented that no-one has won the prize twice.  Fortunately Laura at is considerably more clued up and tells me that in fact two people have achieved that honour.

Peter Carey won in 1988 (Oscar and Lucinda) and 2001 (True History of the Kelly Gang)

J M Coetzee  won in 1983 (Life and Times of Michael K) and again in 1999 (Disgrace).

Glad that someone could help me set the record straight.

About BookerTalk

What do you need to know about me? 1. I'm from Wales which is one of the countries in the UK and must never be confused with England. 2. My life has always revolved around the written and spoken word. I worked as a journalist for nine years then in international corporate communications 3. My tastes in books are eclectic. I love realism and hate science fiction and science fantasy. 4. I am trying to broaden my reading horizons geographically by reading more books in translation

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

We're all friends here. Come and join the conversation

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: